FaceTime Friendship

My best friend went to college 748 miles away. This girl became my best friend half way through senior year, but our friendship most of the time seemed as though it had been around for ages. So many times we would show up at each other’s houses, unannounced, to share our heartbreaks, or tragedies, or successes, and milestones. We were as close as sisters. Many people, more often than not older generations, will say that technology is breaking down relationships. I, however, think the opposite.

My best friend who lives 748 miles away is still able to contact me when she needs me, whether it’s through text, call, or FaceTime. We share photos of the friends we have made at our separate colleges, I have even met her roommate over FaceTime. Technology has made sure that there isn’t a lag in our friendship. Most importantly, to me however, is that I can keep in touch with my little sister. My little sister has just started her Freshman year of high school, a milestone filled with good and bad experiences that she can still talk to her older sister about because of technology. Of course nothing will beat hugging and laughing with my little sister in her room or talking about life with my best friend as we get Dairy Queen late at night. Those things are irreplaceable, however the blow of being separated is softened by the ever present connection of technology.

 

Leave a comment